A Shout-Out to the Dante Readers

My little site has been averaging more than eighty hits a day for a good week now, and my first impulse, of course, was to congratulate myself for writing such good material.  But a look at the numbers put me in my place–the real source of the new hits has been an influx of people running searches for Dante’s Inferno.  Apparently the image that I borrowed to illustrate my post on Dante’s Inferno this last summer has become the second image to pop up when one does a Google Image Search for “Dante’s Inferno.”  I don’t know if anyone stops to read my little post on that great poem, but a bunch of people have been looking at the diagram of Dante’s journey.

So thank you, Dante searchers.  I’m not too shallow to enjoy the increased hits.  While you’re here, why not read around some?

6 Comments

Filed under Self-promotion

6 responses to “A Shout-Out to the Dante Readers

  1. I know how you feel, because my post “Hieroglyphics” features one of Google’s featured images for that word. Alas, no one seems to read around. I want comments more than I want hits!

  2. Aye, aye. But I’ll take hits.

    BTW, did you happen to listen to JM Reynolds’s talk from Scriptorium Daily’s GodBlogCon podcasts about online conversation, classical virtues, and blogging? It was some good stuff.

  3. It was, and it made me think a lot about how I approach the blog. I recognize that part of the reason I get a dearth of comments is that I’m not asking questions–my posts are organized around people rather than topics, and they’re closer to lectures than discussions. I’m just not sure how to fix that.

  4. True enough. I suppose mine aren’t thus organized either, and though I have been giving such things thought, I also haven’t reverted to that style of posting.

  5. But here’s the best one: I just got a hit on my post about Melville’s “Pierre” from the Google search “I made love with my sister.”

    I don’t know if he wanted advice or what.

  6. Wow. As one of the seventeen people who’s actually read Pierre, I actually got that joke.

Leave a Reply

