A Most Important Vote

Tuesday?  Nah.  I’m talking about seven days from now when the congregation of Athens Christian Church votes whether or not to appoint me a deacon.  Marv, our preacher, informed me not long ago that in the latest round of nominations my name had come up, so I agreed to be considered so long as the current elders and deacons knew I was job hunting and might well be moving some time in the next seventeen months or so.  He in turn talked to them and let me know they were fine with it, and I agreed unconditionally.

The next day Emmanuel College contacted me asking if I’d come to campus for a job talk.  I admit that I’m usually slow to conflate circumstance and providence, but whatever that sort of timing happens to be, I’ll take it.

6 Comments

Filed under Church stuff, Job Search

6 responses to “A Most Important Vote

  1. amberpeace

    Would it be for an NT or Missions position?

  2. English. I still keep my Hebrew and Greek as active as I can, but I’ve become an English teacher.

  3. amberpeace

    You know, when I saw “Emmanuel” I thought “Emmanuel School of Religion” not “Emmanuel College.” I’m cool like that.

  4. Ah, I see. That’s understandable. I often have to stop and remove the ambiguity when I talk to people about my academic history, so I probably should have done so there.

    For those who don’t know, I earned a Master of Arts in Old Testament at Emmanuel School of Religion in Johnson City, Tennessee, and I worked as an adjunct and am giving a job talk tomorrow for a position in English at Emmanuel College in Franklin Springs, Georgia. Other than my travels to and work for both places, there’s no relation.

  5. Adrienne

    Nate – Congrats on the job interview! I’ll be praying for you.

  6. Thank you. I’m feeling pretty good about the presentation, and I usually don’t make a total nuisance of myself when I meet with people for lunch, so I feel pretty good about my end. I figure if the funding comes through, I’ve got good odds.

Leave a Reply

