No, I didn’t watch last night either

I do plan on reading the transcript.

I wish I could say that my not watching the first two debates is some kind of Neil Postman-style protest against the silliness of televised politics, but in reality it stems more from the fact that in the evenings, between the time that Micah goes to bed and Mary gets done with her school work for the night and we settle in for some unwinding time before bed, I can grade papers and read books for my dissertation and other such things, and television in general seems like a waste of the scant minutes that come between dad time and husband time.  Besides that, I know that watching the debate, with all of its made-for-TV qualities, would likely drive me nuts.

So perhaps it was a Postman-protest.  Yes, I think I’ll run with that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Political Entertainment

Leave a Reply

