New Email Scam

Robert, one of my faithful readers and a good fellow overall, sent this to me via email, and it stands as my favorite commentary on the current banking system mess.

Millions of Americans–including many members of Congress, journalists, and major financial leaders–have already fallen for this new email scam.  Read it carefully to so that you don’t fall victim yourself.  Here is the version that is most common but there are many variations out there.  Be careful!

Your Urgent Help Need!!!

Dear American:

I need to ask you support urgent business secret(!) relationship with transfer funds of great magnitude.

I am Ministery of Treasury of Republic of America. My country has had crisis has caused need for large transfer of funds of 800 billion USD. If you assist me in this transfer, it would be most very profitable to you.

I am working with Mr. Phil Gram, lobbyist for the UBS, who will my replacement Ministery of Treasury in January. As Senator, you may know him as leader of American banking deregulation movement of 1990s. This transactin is 100% safe!

This is matter of great urgency. Just send blank check sent to our adress in capital city. We need these funds as quickly as is possible. If we no can do transfer there will be great tragedy that will reach even door of your house! We cannot transfer these funds directly in names of our close friends because we are constantly under surveillance of government. My family lawyer advise me that I should look for reliable and trustworthy person who will act as next of kiin so funds can be transferred.

Please reply with you bank account, IRA, and college fund account numbers and those of children and grandchildren to wallstreetbailout@treasury.gov so that we may deposit your commission for this transaction to your accounts. After I receive numbers, I will respond with detailed information of safeguards will be used protect you funds and projection of you future profit.

Your Faithfully Ministery of Treasury Paulson

2 Comments

Filed under Political Entertainment

2 responses to “New Email Scam

  1. Yeah, I’d gone there in conversation, but it’s way funnier written out.

  2. Especially with the now-conventional misspellings.

Leave a Reply

