Christian Standard Takes a Stand for Books

What Have You Read Lately?

So it appears that Paul Williams is joining in the “Kids These Days” game, and I can’t say how much I love the fact that he’s touting reading, a practice near and dear to my own heart, in one of the most-distributed publications in our movement.  That’s not to say that it’s a comprehensive case for changing leisure habits; the column isn’t much more than a memory of C.S. Lewis’s Narnia books and their place in his family.  But all the same, any Christian Standard piece dedicated to books is alright by me.

I have to say that, although it’s not by any means one of the most important good things that’s happened, moving to Athens Christian has among brought me into closer contact with the larger movement by subscribing to the Standard.  Having been away from it between 2002 (when I was the manager of the Restoration Movement Archive Collection at ESR) and last August, I’ve enjoyed quite a bit reading pieces from professors and classmates and old friends and folks I’ve never heard from, all dedicated to our little corner of the ecclesiastic world.  It’s a small thing, but it’s gotten me excited again about the prospects of being a professor of our movement.  That’s not to say that I’m only going to apply to “our schools” when the time comes, but thinking about landing in one of them makes me smile a bit more these days.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Christian Standard, Kids These Days

Leave a Reply

