Mr. K is Dead to Me

We hauled six boxes of books, most in very good shape, up to Johnson City, trusting that Mr. K’s, formerly the best used book store in our sphere of influence, would give us great trade credit and allow us to grab some seminarians’, Milliganders’ and elementary teachers’ books and enjoy them back in Georgia.

They took one box’s worth of books and CD’s.  The rest we either hauled back to GA or left in the freebie bin.

I bet they waited until we left and put price tags on ’em.  Grr.

Then, to top it all off, we decided to wash the chlorine out of our swim suits at a local laundromat (the one that I used to frequent when a poor student in Johnson City), and someone stole our three swim suits out of the dryer before I could get back.

Oh, and when we stopped by Milligan to see professors, at 11:00 this morning, the Faculty Office Building was almost empty, and none of the English professors was to be seen.

Ah, well, I suppose impromptu trips just aren’t what they used to be.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Gripes, Travel

2 responses to “Mr. K is Dead to Me

  1. Darcy

    Yikes, that’s always depressing. I used to live in GA and make frequent trips up to the TN area because the local used bookstores back home never gave fair trade credit. I always had good luck with McKay’s out in Knoxville and Chattanooga, but every now-and-then same thing would happen. I hope you have better luck next time!

  2. Thank you for the good wishes. What kills me is that I’ve been buying books from Mr. K’s for more than a decade now, and I know full well that I’ve bought books with worse than the pencil markings that they say disqualified so many of my books. Perhaps their shelves are getting overcrowded, but I still felt quite slighted. Ah, well. I’m headed over to the Goodwill donation center tomorrow to drop the rest of the boxes off. They should know a good set of books when they see ’em.

Leave a Reply

