Book Reviews Coming Soon

Pleased with my performance on written comps, I undertook this weekend to start a NON-COMPS BOOK for the first time in a while, and I’ve also been reading in totality a book whose first thirty pages or so I skimmed so that I could cite it in combat.

The former is Al Gore’s 2007 book The Assault on Reason. The sheer and amusing irony of the book is that one of the great Satans of the AM radio crowd has written a book that basically takes the work of Neil Postman, one of the late twentieth century’s great conservative philosophers, and applies it to the decade since his last book.  (I also received Postman’s last book, Building a Bridge to the 18th Century: How the Past Can Improve Our Future, through PINES library courier service today.)  I’ve got my concerns with Gore’s book, but being a Postman fan myself, I don’t mind that his ideas are likely getting a catapult into popular imagination by means of a more famous popularizer.  I’m two chapters out from finishing this one, and I’ll likely write a longer piece on it when I finish.

The latter is Izaak Walton’s 1653 book The Compleat Angler.  Call it a George Herbert obsession, but I do dig the gentle-spirited Protestants of an era in which Protestants were… regicidal comes to mind.  Walton sets up a classic debate-of-the-professions dialogue, and his love for fishing (Washington Irving warned me of this) has me checking the Internet for prices for a Georgia fishing license.  I just need to wait another summer or two for Micah to get old enough…

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “Book Reviews Coming Soon

  1. If you’re interested in fly fishing, I know just the place.

  2. I thank you for the offer, but back when I fished (that is to say, when I was a teenager), I was always a rod-and-reel lake fisher. Not a whole lot of trout streams in Indiana, but a whole mess of glacier lakes.

  3. I haven’t been lake fishing since I was a kid, although I used to like going with my dad. I liked going fly fishing with my friend Garrett at Tallulah State Park because even in August, it was about 40 degrees up there at 5 a.m. It was a really nice break from the heat.

Leave a Reply

