Time Line Complete

I decided, as the timeline grew, that character lists and plot synopses would have made the timeline of English Renaissance literature so unwieldy that it would be useless for studying. So I called the project to a close this morning, and here’s the list of stuff that I’m prepared to talk about two weeks from today:

Comps Timeline

I think I might be nuts, professing to know the intellectual and literary culture of a hundred-fifty-year span of time, four hundred or so years distant from my own lifetime, with any sort of authority. I’m also nuts for claiming that my idiosyncratic list of texts paints a picture anything close to comprehensive. But professors are nuts, I’ve decided. So there you go.

O ye English teachers, I know that some of the dates on the timeline are as heavily speculative as one can get. It’s a study tool, not dogma. So save your comments. (Nah. Go ahead and post ’em. I can always use more page traffic. 🙂 )

Incidentally, on a rough count, I’ve got seventy stage plays (masques not included) in my utility belt. I can’t imagine I’ll need more than that, but I suppose that’s the anxiety that comes with comps.

[edit: Yes, I know that Fletcher, not Webster, is the name conventionally attached to The Tamer Tamed.  I was tired.  No, I’m not going to change my .pdf at this point.  Give me a break.]

5 Comments

Filed under comps

5 responses to “Time Line Complete

  1. It’s fun to see all of these impt texts/events in one place. Ah, The Changeling–that takes me back.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Marlowe: “There’s nothing worthwhile in this world but tobacco and little boys.”

  2. Indeed. I actually pulled your MA thesis up from the library’s web site when I wrote my paper on Titus Andronicus.

    The EMUS (our own little grad student association for folks doing Early Modern things) webmaster was also grateful for the little document, though she quibbled with some of the dates. I reminded her that I’m not even marginally interested in the minutiae of the archaeology of the Renaissance stage (I’m much more an intellectual/theological historian), and I wrote a NB to put at the top of the document to reflect the compiler’s chronological apathy. 🙂

  3. That thesis should be burned, if one can burn something that exists only electronically.

    Titus is still a good play, though I’d use it differently if I had to do it over again.

  4. Who among is is entirely happy with what we wrote at age twenty-five? (If my chronology is off, I apologize.) I’m certainly not doing cartwheels over my William Blake and Ezekiel piece from ’02. But that’s the fun thing about being teachers–we know, not believe, that everyone, most especially the young, can get better at articulating reality.

  5. It’s difficult for me to equate my grad school experience with reality. I think that part of the reason you handle it so well is that you have other things–a family, etc–that are so much more crucial. Such things put yet another paper on Shakespeare into their proper perspective, freeing you from tying too much self-worth to it.

    To be a writer is to be perpetually dissatisfied with what you’ve done while fearing that what you’ve done is the best you’ll every do.

    Hmm . . . scratch that. Change “writer” to “human.”

Leave a Reply

