One down, one to go

I hate double-grading.  Some time yesterday afternoon, when I had submitted my own last paper to my religion professor, and having finished grading all of my own freshman portfolios, I should have been done for the semester.  As it stands, I still have anywhere from six to nine hours of solid grading to go.  Granted, I’ve never been inside the other teacher’s classroom and have only the vaguest ideas of what she’s been trying to teach her freshmen all semester, but still I have six to nine hours ahead of me, six to nine hours.

Six to nine hours.  I’d better start.

4 Comments

Filed under Gripes, teaching, UGA

4 responses to “One down, one to go

  1. robert

    Unless what is being graded is simple and shallow (e.g. an SAT essay) double grading makes little sense. Makes for lots of annoyance and bitterness, though. 🙂

    btw, I posted an article related to your and Jon’s Horowitz/PHC discussions as a comment at CRM that’s since drifted off the list in the recent comments plug-in. Here it is again in case you missed it:

    Who’s Right? What’s Left?

  2. Pretty good article. The amusing thing is that your article would locate me solidly within the conservative camp while Horowitz would not even consider me an intellectual–much less a conservative that would bring balance to the force– because I’m not a capitalist.

  3. Aw, come on. That isn’t true.

  4. I think you’ll get a kick out of God’s Harvard, Jonathan, not least because Patrick Henry College has a history/philosophy/Bible/literature class that would give Horowitz a tizzy because of its breadth. I don’t remember what discipline the teacher comes from, but he’s certainly not from all of those.

Leave a Reply

